• 033-22640952 / 033-40055712
  • loretcol@cal2.vsnl.net.in / principal@loretocollege.in

Youth Parliament

The Department of Political Science of the college organized a Youth Parliament acknowledging the Department of Parliamentary Affairs, Government of West Bengal on 13th October, 2015. It was an opportunity for us, students to showcase our leadership skills and create an awareness of public affairs through a debate on issues that we are passionate about. The Youth Parliament was a platform to not only voice one’s opinions, but to re-enact the procedure and protocol followed by the Parliament.

There was a Ruling Party that included the Prime minister, Minister of External Affairs, HRD Minister, Home Minister, Minister of Petroleum and Natural Gases, and Minister of Food and Consumer Affairs. The Opposition Party had a Leader of Opposition and 5 other members. A Speaker, Marshal, and a Secretary General were also present. There was an engrossing debate dedicated to the advantages and disadvantages of ‘Minimum Educational Qualifications for Parliamentarians’.

The Youth Parliament had a panel of extremely distinguished judges- Mr. Javed Ahmed Khan, Hon’ble Minister of Fire and Emergency Services, Government of West Bengal; Mr. Michael Shane Calvert, Member of West Bengal Legislative Assembly and Academic Administrator of Welland Gouldsmith Schools, Kolkata; and Ms. Piali Ray, Faculty member of Calcutta International School, Kolkata. It was truly a learning experience, and an effort that would not have been possible without the constant guidance and support of the faculty of Department of Political Science and the students of the department.

Other Links

 No of Visitors: 586

Loreto College Kolkata